Monday, June 11, 2018

The Secret, Book, & Scone Society (Miracle Springs, North Carolina #1), by Ellery Adams (author), Cris Dukehart (narrator)

Dreamscape Media, November 2017

Nora Pennington moved to Miracle Springs after a terrible personal tragedy, and opened a bookstore, Miracle Books. She sells books, and coffee, and for those customers who need it, over a "comfort scone" from the neighboring Gingerbread House bakery, she'll listen to their troubles, and recommend well-chosen books to start them on the path to healing.

It's a peaceful, quiet life, until one day, the customer in need of healing is Neil Parrish. He makes an appointment to see her the next day, but is killed by a train before he can keep that appointment. It's not long before the clumsy official investigation into the death connects Nora with three other women who moved to Miracle Springs for their own healing. They form the Secret, Book, & Scone Society. They share their secrets, and launch their own investigation of Neil Parrish's death.

They're all compromised individuals, but they also all prove to be strong and smart women in their own ways. Miracle Springs also proves to have more than just their secrets, and much more dangerous ones, but it also has other strong, good characters along with its venal and corrupt ones. The plot avoids the lazy and the silly, and we see the women discover their strength, learn to trust their new friendship, and also start to make more friends beyond their own immediate circle.

The book reads to me like a well-thought-out, and very promising start to a new mystery series, centered around character.


I bought this audiobook. 

No comments:

Post a Comment