Monday, October 29, 2018

Death:The Complete DI Tremayne Series, Books 1-6, by Phillip Strang

Phillip Strang, August 2018

This is, as it says, the complete boxed set of the DI Keith Tremayne police procedural murder mysteries, set in and around Salisbury, in the UK. Tremayne is in his fifties, overweight, a smoker and a drinker--and a very good detective. When we meet him, he is long divorced. His boss, Superintendent Moulton, wants him to retire, but Tremayne quite seriously has no idea what he would do. Solving murders is the only thing he enjoys, except for drinking beer, and betting on horses. He's not good at picking winning horses.

His partner is DS Clare Yarwood, a young woman from a very different background than Tremayne's, but with great respect for him and determined to learn all she can. They're a good team, both in what he has to teach and she has to learn, and in the fact that in exchange for his knowledge and experience, she has the computer skills and the comfort with using them for both reports and research. This relieves Tremayne of a burden that would probably hasten his retirement still faster.

Over the course of the six books, they both grow and develop as characters. At first we see Moulton only as Tremayne's boogeyman, trying to force him into retirement. Over time, we learn more of his real perspective, his respect for Tremayne's skill and experience, and his concern for Tremayne's health and resistance to necessary changes in policing.

If you enjoy police procedurals, this is a very good, enjoyable set, to be enjoyed either one at a time, or all at once.

Very much recommended.

I received a free electronic galley of this boxed set from the author, and am reviewing it voluntarily.

No comments:

Post a Comment